Where am I now?

slc

My journey starts in a little place called Salt Lake City, Utah in the U. S. of A. I don’t technically come from SLC, but I’ve been here for a few years now, and it has become what my husband and I term “home base”.

snow02
Having said that, I have to admit that when we first moved here I absolutely despised it! I grew up in the nice warm desert where it’s summer practically all year round.

I loved my desert. I still do. I hated snow. I still dislike it.

It snows a LOT in northern Utah…

 

So, I suppose that it is no surprise that my love affair with SLC came about gradually. I had to (1) learn to dress warmly in the winter, and (2) discover the city. What I found was the thing that I love most about Salt Lake: Diversity. Not just in the population, but in everything.

nature04Some days I love the hustle and bustle of the city. Other days I just want some peace and quite. I get the best of both worlds here: you can go from city to nature in 20 minutes flat. Beautiful inner-city parks and mountain trails alike abound in the region.

shopping03

What woman doesn’t love shopping?? SLC boasts not only countless high-end stores, but also some of the coolest thrift shops ever! It’s no wonder two of my worst “addictions” started here: scarves and boots.

There is art everywhere. This was a huge factor in my girly crush on the city. I love wandering around the Salt Lake and seeing random pianos painted with bright murals sitting on street corners waiting for passers by to plunk out “chopsticks”; and giant mobiles gently spinning in the breeze; and yes, I even love seeing the graffiti!

art02

family02Utah has one of the youngest populations in the country. So there are a lot of family oriented activities in Salt Lake. With farmer’s markets, street fairs, and little league of every sport you can think of, your kids will never be bored in this city.

food02
Anyone who knows me also knows that I love to eat. And there is no shortage of good food in SLC! You can get just about anything your little heart desires from Sonoran Mexican, to yummy sushi, to beautiful chocolate truffles — my favorite!

But let’s be honest. It’s not the things that make somewhere a home. It’s the people. And the people of Salt Lake have truly given me reason to call it home. So “Thank You” to all my friends that have become family along the way. You are an amazing bunch!

friends05

Leave a Reply

